Become a MemberHomeJoin Mailing ListContact Us





IASLC Patient Advocacy Award Winners

supported by


IASLC Patient Advocacy Award Winners


  • Mesothelioma Applied Research Foundation (MARF) - - represented by Melinda Kotzian, Chief Executive Officer
  • Clifton F. Mountain Foundation - represented by Merel Nissenberg Mountain
  • Lung Cancer Foundation of Ameria - - represented by Beth Ida Stern, Executive Director
  • Asbestos Diseases Society of Australia Inc. - - represented by Robert Vojakovic, President of ADSA
  • Trinidad Donoso, Chile - Individual Advocate



WCLC 2013 Fellowship/Young Investigator Award Winners

supported by
Boehringer Ingelheim


WCLC 2013 Fellowship Award Winners



  • Kathryn Ann Gold, USA (MO20.02)
  • Vinai Gondi, USA (O14.01)
  • Jill Everland Larsen, Australia (O12.05)
  • Yu Liu, China (O04.07)
  • Tatsuo Maeyashiki, Japan (O13.02)
  • Victor Daniel Martinez Zamora, Canada (O18.01)
  • Geoffrey R. Oxnard, USA (MO15.06)
  • Tai Sun Park, Korea (P1.10-046)
  • Jessica C. Sieren, USA (O05.02)



WCLC 2013 Developing Nation Award Winners

supported by
Cancer Council Australia


WCLC 2013 Developing Nation Award Winners


  • Ning Cheng, China (O18.07)
  • Neekkan Dey, Inida (MO04.01)
  • Alexander Kabakov, Russia (P2.01-002)
  • Urvashi Kaushik, India (P2.23-002)
  • Natalia Khranovska, Ukraine (P2.11-039)
  • Yubo Liu, China (P3.05-002)
  • C.S. Pramesh, India (O09.07)
  • Subrata Saha, India (MO13.06)
  • Natthaya Triphuridet, Thailand (O05.03)


Simon Chan Shang Whai - IASLC - LFA Cancer Research Travel Award Winners


Simon Chan Shang Whai Award Winners


  • Jiayu Li, China (O01.05)
  • Qixue Wang, China (MO04.08)
  • Yuanyuan Li, China (P1.01-009)


WCLC 2013 Lectureship Awards

  • Dan Idhe Lectureship Award/Medical Oncology - Suresh Ramalingam, USA (O03.01)
  • Robert Ginsberg Lectureship Award/Surgery - Meinoshin Okumura, Japan (MO03.01)
  • Heine Hansen Lecturship Award/SCLC - Michael Seckl, UK (O21.01)
  • Clifton Mountain Lectureship Award/Staging - Min Kim, USA (P1.07-010)
  • Tsuguo Naruke Lecturship Award/Surgery - Junji Yoshida, Japan (O13.01)





The deadline to apply for Scholarships has now passed.


Due to the overwhelming interest, we are unfortunately not able to accept further applications.


Notifications for the Advocacy Awards were sent on August 1, 2013.


Notifications for the Young Investigator and Developing Nation Awards are expected to be available by August 30, 2013.





The Conference is pleased to offer Scholarships for Young Investigators, Developing Nation Investigators as well as Patient Advocates.


Young Investigator Awards Developing Nation Awards Advocacy Awards
Eligible Candidates
  • 35 years of age or younger at time of application
  • First author and presenter of submitted abstract

Please see below for detailed information**

  • Free full Conference registration
  • 4 nights accommodation at one of the Conference contracted hotels
  • 1,000 AUD cash award to help offset travel expenses (any costs beyond 1,000 AUD will be at the applicant's own expense)
  • Free IASLC Membership for 2014
How to apply?
  • Submit online application form (closed) on or before June 21, 2013 extended to June 24, 2013 (17:00 PST)
Required Supporting Materials
  • Proof of age (i.e. passport or drivers license)
  • Curriculum Vitae
  • Supporting letter from supervisor of the candidate's role in the research
  • Curriculum Vitae
  • Description of your interest and current research in lung cancer (1 - 5 pages)

Please see detailed information below**

Application Deadline

June 21, 2013

extended to June 24, 2013 (17:00 PST)

June 21, 2013

extended to June 24, 2013 (17:00 PST)

June 21, 2013

extended to June 24, 2013 (17:00 PST)

August 30, 2013
August 30, 2013

July 26, 2013

Notifications were sent on August 1

We encourage you to register before the Early Registration Deadline on August 9, 2013 to take advantage of discounted registration fees. Should your scholarship application be successful, the registration fees will be refunded after the Conference.





In its efforts to increase links to patient advocates and advocacy organizations around the world, IASLC will offer travel awards to a limited number of patient advocates to attend and participate in the World Conference.


Eligibility for selection will include:


  1. The demonstration that the organization or individual has limited financial resources -- supported through IRS form 990 submission or other documentation;
  2. Compatibility between IASLC and the advocate or advocacy organizations’ missions, including the ability of IASLC to benefit from and contribute to the organization’s mission;
  3. Recent and potential future partnerships or strategic endeavors;
  4. A detailed plan and description of how information about the conference will be shared and promoted with members of the public;
  5. Priority will be given to first-time applicants and applicants who are not already receiving funding for attendance through their own or another organization; i.e. Global Lung Cancer Coalition;
  6. The individual applying must be a current member of IASLC for 2013 (visit to join);
  7. For organizations applying, you must nominate ONLY ONE individual to represent the organization; multiple applications from individuals from the same organization will not be considered. 






The organizers reserve the right to


  • Cancel the scholarship if a selected award winner is not attending in person
  • Amend the terms and conditions of the scholarship program without notice
  • If you fulfill all criteria for all awards, you may apply for all; however, if selected, you will only be offered one award.